SOLSC Day Twenty Seven – Pâte à Choux

sliceoflifeicon

If I wasn’t a teacher, I could easily be a cook or baker.

Pâte à Choux

the start of Pâte à Choux

This morning I started a pâte à choux for tonight’s dessert – a cream puff cake with a creamy topping and fresh strawberries. I’ve made this dessert before, and I think it was the favourite of my Friday night dinner companions. I typically don’t repeat desserts, but strawberries were on sale yesterday.

I grabbed 70 grams of butter from the fridge, poured 2/3 cup of water into the pan, and added 2 tablespoons of sugar. As the butter melted and incorporated with the water and sugar, I slowly stirred until it created a rich, golden swirl. This bit of brightness was exactly what I needed after a couple days of solid rain and darkness.

Once it came to a boil, I added 2/3 cup flour and stirred quickly until it pulled away from the sides of the pan. Eggs were next.

I took it off the heat and added 3 eggs, one at a time, and mixed them in until the resulting dough was shiny and smooth. I love how the eggs make the dough glisten and slide in the pan. Once it was all mixed and smooth, I poured the dough into a springform pan and set it to bake for 20 minutes.

Whenever I bake, I seem to forget that I’ve been baking and I’m always surprised when the timer starts beeping away in the kitchen. The pastry puffed up nicely, I poked some holes in it, and put it back in the oven for another minute. The result was a golden pastry, light and airy.

Now if I can only wait a couple hours while it cools before adding the cream cheese/heavy cream mixture and strawberries.

I should really make two of these whenever I make them, so that I could at least enjoy an afternoon treat before having to share it with friends after dinner.

-C

3 thoughts on “SOLSC Day Twenty Seven – Pâte à Choux

  1. Yum! Can I be your friend? Your dessert sounds scrumptious. I, too, love to bake but I usually dabble in cookies and cupcakes. I love to bake when I have the time to enjoy it and not rush. Just recently my third grade granddaughter wrote me a letter letting me know that she is ready to come visit and have a baking day! Enjoy your dessert!!!

  2. Oh yum! I wish I liked to cook…or had married someone who did. I think that if I could hire one person to live with me, it would be a chef. Having something like this baked up for dessert would be worth every cent.

Leave a Reply

