SOLSC Day Twenty Six – Trying to Call

sliceoflifeiconI’ve been trying to call my brother all week because I want to chat with him about the possibility of him visiting me sometime this year, but getting a hold of him has been difficult. Not only do I have to deal with the time difference (he’s 14 hours behind me) but I also have to deal with his ridiculous work schedule. My brother is a chef in NYC and works the most insane hours. He’s at work by 7:30am most days and doesn’t get done until 9-10pm. Therefore, I can call after 9pm his time, which is 11am my time. But really, who wants to talk on the phone after you’ve worked that long?

This morning, I got some work done and then began calling. But I still haven’t reached him.

After trying 5 times, I realised that I was beginning to feel like a stalker.

Pick up phone, enter in Brisbane phone number.

Wait for the “Welcome to Aussie Phone Cards! Please enter your code.”

Enter in a 14 digit code that I probably have memorised at this point.

Wait for the “Your balance is $11.08. You have 9 hours of talk time remaining.”

Enter in the international code, country code, area code, phone number, and pound sign.

Wait for the connection.

Listen for the ring.

Hear “Hi, I can’t reach my phone right now” message.

Leave a “Hey, it’s just me. I’ll try calling back in some minutes” message.

Repeat.

What I wouldn’t give to hop on a plane today and make the long trek to NYC to spend a week with my brother like I did last spring.

-C

2 thoughts on “SOLSC Day Twenty Six – Trying to Call

  1. It is so hard to stay in touch when different time zones are at play. I have a good friend in Israel who I try to keep in touch with. We have to use What’s App just to coordinate our Skype and phone calls. Craziness!

    Hope you can get to NYC for another visit.

Leave a Reply

