SOLSC Day Twenty Three – Angry Birds

sliceoflifeicon

This morning we took the in-laws to the airport to catch their flight back to the states. Their flight wasn’t until 10:30am, but they (read: my father-in-law) wanted to be early. I plotted a route that would avoid some of the peak traffic on the M1 just to give him some peace of mind.

Travel makes people tense. There always seems to be one person in the party traveling who wants to be early. I would be that person. My husband and my mother-in-law aren’t like that as much.

So 12 minutes before we were supposed to leave, my father-in-law was getting a little restless – my mother-in-law was still in her pajamas, drinking coffee, and playing Angry Birds on her iPad.

Oh those Angry Birds. These past three weeks I have listened to her play it, and it got to the point where I could watch her play and offer help on how to get some dynamite or whatever with a specific bird. I do not play Angry Birds, but for some reason it was really fun to watch her play.

My father-in-law does not, however, enjoy the birds, and this morning he really did not like the birds. It led to a minor spat.

We got in the ute (utility vehicle – really just an old diesel truck) about 5 minutes after our target, and after we had been driving for about 10 minutes, I heard my mother-in-law say quietly to my father-in-law, “I’m sorry I snapped.”

Oh those Angry Birds.

In the end, we arrived two hours before their flight. Plenty of time. When we got home, we had an email waiting.

“Security breach at the international terminal. All passengers are being rescreened. We’re in a queue that wraps around the entire airport. Your mother is trying to get on the news.”

So I guess she had some time to play birds while she waited.

-C

One thought on “SOLSC Day Twenty Three – Angry Birds

  1. It’s amazing how a silly little game like Angry Birds can evoke such emotions in people! I guess such mindless (although at times it takes a lot of strategy) entertainment is just what people find relaxing. To each his own!

Leave a Reply

