SOLSC Day Seven – Budino

sliceoflifeicon

The other day I received the following text from my brother:

Text from Clark

It’s wonderful having a chef for a brother, especially when you enjoy cooking and baking as much as I do. The usual problem I have with the recipes he shares with me is that they are oftentimes written to serve a crowd. For example, he sent me a recipe for pizza dough two weeks ago that would leave me with 3 pounds of dough….and I needed to have mozzarella whey on hand. I typically do a little math to figure out how much I’ll really be making.

This recipe, however, was just right. Chocolate budino is basically a flourless chocolate cake that is moist but forms a lovely crust and crumb on the outside while remaining just a bit gooey on the inside. It was the perfect way to spend an hour this afternoon.

After I converted the ounces to grams, I grabbed a bar of dark baking chocolate, a bar of milk chocolate, 250 grams of butter, 1/2 cup of hot coffee, and began melting them together in my makeshift double boiler. The two chocolates slowly formed a rich, dark liquid. I stirred slowly allowing the butter to incorporate. When it was all just about melted, I added the sugar and vanilla and then took it off the hob to cool.

While I waited I whisked the eggs and prepared the ramekins. I also got out my ladle and determined that 4 ounces was the exact amount that my ladle would hold. Perfect!

The addition of the whisked eggs made the mixture just a bit lighter, but it was impossibly smooth and rich. I filled one ramekin as a test and put it in the oven to see how long and how hot I would really need my oven to be. After 20 minutes, the budino was puffed up nicely and the smell was wafting out the windows and through the house. I put the remaining 9 in the oven.

I brought the 9 to dinner tonight and served them with ice cream and/or whipped cream. It was just the right amount of dessert.

And when I got home and checked my phone, I had a message from my brother asking how everyone liked the dessert.

They loved it. And I love that he and I can share this one simple thing across the miles.

-C

One thought on “SOLSC Day Seven – Budino

  1. You know, we like leftover chocolate brownies in our faculty room. Just saying.

    It is so interesting to see how social networking binds people, especially families. I love that my mom and I text, that my widowed aunt is able to follow my life on Facebook from many miles away, that extended family shares pictures of newest additions, the snowman in the yard, or the burned dinner. While it is true that times were simpler and families lived closer and ate together–and everything else we hear as a criticism about today–it was refreshing to read your piece to see technology allowing for contact and connections and the continuation of family in spite of the miles.

Leave a Reply

