SOLSC Day Four – Loving things

sliceoflifeicon

I love coffee.  That love is the best described as a “Go to bed at night just so I can wake up and have a cup of coffee” type of love. At night if I open the coffee cupboard and catch a whiff of that fresh ground smell, I’ll want to make myself a cup, and I really (really really) shouldn’t drink coffee at night.  I know because when I was in high school and was going through a “hey, it would be awesome to drink coffee during study hall” phase (our study hall was held Sunday through Thursday nights from 7pm to 9pm) I quite vividly remember waking up at 2 in the morning to a dream about water….warm water. Um, yeah. I learned my lesson. Never drink a pot of coffee before you go to bed. Ever.

My brother-in-law once said to me, “You should worry about loving things too much because when it’s gone what will you do?” Ever the optimist, huh? When we moved to Australia, I was surprised to discover that most people do not drink coffee. Just add that to the list of things I shouldn’t have known. I mean, plenty of people drink coffee, but it’s usually instant or a flat white (see the coffee chart below and note that there is NO just plain regular drip coffee on that chart).

We did buy both a French press and a regular drip coffee pot, and my day is made every morning because of them. Now if only I wasn’t paying over $15 per kilo of coffee.

Today, however, I took the first step in changing my life. No, I did not give up coffee. It may be Lent, but seriously?!? That is not going to happen. No, I bought a milk frother. I feel like a barista in my own kitchen. The machine silently whirs the milk for 60 seconds forming stiff peaks and heating the milk oh so gently. It’s a wonder to behold. I may have walked my creation downstairs to my husband so he would marvel in my ingenuity and total awesomeness. He was not impressed.

I, however, am deeply in love. Which might explain why I’m halfway through a pot at 6pm.

-C

4 thoughts on “SOLSC Day Four – Loving things

  1. Love your frother. We have a pod machine and a frother the same as yours in our joint teaching space. The smell of coffee permeates my teaching partners and my own classroom all day long. Love it!! Everyone comments on the delicious smell in our room.

  2. Here, in my mind,
    as I write, I imagine that
    plenty of people drink coffee
    to keep them awake
    or to wake them up
    but Me?
    I find poems in my mug,
    writing to the rhythm of the percolation
    and staring desperately at the bottom
    when that liquid infusion is gone.

    -Kewvin

  3. I never learned to love coffee because I was Mormon from age 15 well into adulthood, but I do love the smell. The aroma makes me think of people I love, like my Grandma. Her home was warm and welcoming, with a pot of coffee always ready for guests, and I can see her now sitting at her table with her cup, talking over my troubles with me. She always knew how to put the world right and let me know I was loved.

    My morning drink is diet Coke! Not good for me, but it makes me happy. Love the way you show your coffee joy here! I can relate.

  4. I’m right there with you on the love for coffee. Although to be honest, I live in Seattle and it’s pretty much a requirement. If I didn’t have a latte stand on every other corner, I’d be very tempted to get a fancy frother like you have. Heck, I’m still very tempted! Good on ya for finding a great solution.

Leave a Reply

