The weekend before Australia Day

OiOiOiI’m not usually one to get super patriotic. I mean, I prefer the Canadian national anthem to the Star Spangled Banner, I would have never worn red, white, and blue for July 4th, nor would I have decorated my house for the holiday. But last weekend we hosted a going away party at the house for a church family who is moving back to the States; therefore, I decorated. I hung banners, provided paper plates for the party with the Australian anthem on it, used Australian flag cups and napkins, and even used two pairs of Australian themed thongs for the “thong throwing contest.” I got into it. It helped that this weekend was Australia Day and the shops had lots of Australia themed junk for me to use. We didn’t sing the Australian national anthem or sing along to, “Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi!!!” but we did have a pavlova eating contest and spent the afternoon enjoying the lovely weather.

I continued the Australia Day theme the following weekend (actual Australia Day) by making some cupcakes.Straya Day Cupcake

I also did some research to find out more about Australia Day, and I discovered that Australia and the US have similar debates about the effect of colonisation and sovereignty. Please read more here: Australia Day or Invasion Day?

-C

Leave a Reply

