Stupid American

Stupid American

The other day while I was walking through the refrigerated section at the grocery, I saw this container of orange and mango juice on sale for 99 cents. I thought, “Yum, juice. What a deal!” So I grabbed a container.

Later I decided that a glass of orange and mango juice would be perfect with my lunch, so I poured some into a juice glass over ice. I did note that it was pretty thick, but I figured it must be the pulp. That afternoon I experienced heartburn like I had never experienced before, and I thought, “Hmmm, must have been the juice. I’ll have to cut it with water or add more ice next time.”

A couple days later, I decided to have some juice with lunch again, and this time I actually read the container. That’s when I saw it was concentrate. Oh, for Pete’s sake! You probably saw it right away in the photo, but I hadn’t. I thought, “Since when is concentrated juice in the refrigerated section and not in the freezer section?” Uh, since I’m in Australia and not the US. I talked to my Aussie friend and told her what I had done, and she laughed and laughed. And then when I told her about frozen concentrate, she looked at me like I was crazy. She was probably thinking, “Oh, these Americans are just so ignorant.” And she’d be right.

-C

Leave a Reply

