New Words

I’ve been making a mental list of words I hear that are new to me or words that I just really like for some reason. I sometimes have a  hard time saying these words out loud because they make me feel a bit pretentious.  I’ll have to work on that.

I’ve included some below with their definitions:

  • jelly = Jell-o
  • trolley = shopping cart
  • The Shops  = the mall and grocery store
  • lounge = living room or a couch
  • cupboard = closet or wardrobe
  • mozzie = mosquito
  • petrol = gas
  • thongs = flip flops
  • brekkie = breakfast
  • arvo = afternoon
  • stubbie = bottle of beer
  • foot path = sidewalk
  • bits = things or pieces
  • zed = the letter Z
  • fringe = bangs
  • lolly = a sweet or candy
  • holidays = vacation
  • jumper = sweater

My favourite phrase though is, “Good on ya!'” or just “On ya!” which means “Well done!”

-C

Leave a Reply

